Your Envy is a Super Power

Leah Smart
5 min readJan 6, 2020

I asked a few people what they thought of when the word “envy” was mentioned and they said, “void”, “lack”, “draining energy”, and “shameful”. In the past, just hearing the word “envy” makes me reflexively shun myself and ask for forgiveness. It feels like a human defect, something we should all run from. And yet, it’s everywhere. It’s in the fast dart of our eyes when we glimpse that “perfect” family we wish we had. It gets served up when we hear “he” got the promotion at work (even if we didn’t go for it). Envy dances around us when we’re supposed to be happy for someone’s success, but her sly voice says…

--

--

Leah Smart

My love and work is human development. I explore our minds, hearts and souls so that we can all be better humans. Let’s do life’s work together! leahsmart.co